To Hexistove or not to hexistove

Sonisphere Festival drink and food sub forum
owl79

To Hexistove or not to hexistove

Postby owl79 » Thu Jul 08, 2010 4:25 pm

Okey Dokey.. thought i'd ask everyones opinion on the hexistove. Some people like them, some don't. I literally did a tester 15 mins ago with mine ( purely because i have never used them before) and used one hexi block and boiled enough water for 4 coffees and am currently drinking said coffee :) So peoples of the boards whats the verdict on the ole hexistove :?: :?: :?:

SONI 10',
SONI 11',
INCUBUS NOV 11',
DL 12',
FOB 14'
SONI 14'

Bill736

Re: To Hexistove or not to hexistove

Postby Bill736 » Thu Jul 08, 2010 6:55 pm

Personally not a fan,

I took one to download fest in 08, used all the blocks trying to boil a kettle and it didnt boil!

In the end had to get the gas out.

RAF Rozzer

Postby RAF Rozzer » Fri Jul 09, 2010 3:02 am

There are pros and cons to hexi stoves.

If you get them right, they're aces and will cook your stuff nice and quickly too.

Top tips:

Don't use too many blocks. No point in throwing in 5 blocks to boil your water or cook your scoff. You need sustained heat over a longer period. As one block starts to burn out, throw the next one in.

Try to protect it from wind. The stuff your trying to cook will take a damn site longer if the heat you're trying to direct upwards is blown sideways towards your legs/the great outdoors. Use anything to shield it. You can sit with your back to the wind and use your body, or try sitting your stove in a metal biscuit tin. The tin can be used to transport your stove and blocks, as well as any dried packs of food you've brought, such as packets of noodles or flavoured rice. Both are cheap and easy to cook on a hexi stove.